New Child Care Legislation in California 2014
AB 1819 (Hall) Smoking Prohibition in Family Child Care Homes (effective January 1, 2015)
Prohibits smoking tobacco in the homes of licensed family child care homes at all times and in areas where children are present. The child care providers are required to take “reasonable steps” to prevent quests from smoking at their homes without their knowledge. A person who willfully or repeatedly violates this law can be found guilty of misdemeanor. The intent of the bill is to reduce the negative impacts of third hands smoke, which is described as toxic chemicals left on surfaces, such as furniture, carpets, and walls, from smoking.
AB 1432 (Gatto) Training for School Employees on Mandated Child Abuse Reporting
Requires child care professionals employed at school districts and other public education facilities to receive training on how to identify or report signs of child abuse. California Department of Education must develop and disseminate information on detecting child abuse, and guidelines on reporting it, to all school districts, county offices of education and charter schools, and their school personnel.
AB 2236 (Maienschein)- Civil Penalties for Licensed Care Facilities
Increases the amount of civil penalties that the CDSS Community Care Licensing Division may impose when it determines that a child care facility’s violation of licensing rules resulted in physical abuse, serious injury, or death to a child in care.
AB 1522 (Gonzalez) –Paid Sick Days (Effective July 1, 2015)
The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 enacted by AB 1522 entitles employees of nearly all California workplaces, including child care centers and family child care homes, to a minimum of three paid sick days a year. The law covers any employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 days or more days within a year from when they started employment. Employees accrue paid sick days at the rate of not less than one hour per every 30 hours worked, and are entitled to begin using the accrued sick days after 90 days of employment.
AB 1944 (Garcia) Preferred Child Care Placement of 11 and 12-Year Old Children
This law deletes the requirement that a parent of an 11- or 12- year old student provide certification that a before or after school program is not available, for the student to be eligible for subsidized child careDownload Document(s):